Glossary of Verizon Media Terms
Looking for a definition of a term used on the Verizon Media Ad Platform? You’ve come to the right place.
the types of ads that can be displayed in your application. Verizon Media offers these ad formats: Interstitial, Display Banners (Top of Page and Below the Fold) and Rectangle. We also offer Video ad units (Pre-Roll, Rewarded, Interstitial), In-Banner Video (Lightbox), and Native.
a collection of all the creatives that were previously uploaded to campaigns. These creatives can be reused for any future campaigns. You can also load creatives directly into the Ad Gallery at any time. Note, when edits are made to creatives in your Ad Gallery, these edits will not be applied to creatives already running in campaigns. The Ad Gallery is located in the Creatives tab in the Advertise section of SSP.
the location where an advertisement is placed on a mobile website or inside an application. Effective ad placement ensures that the ads in your property are visible to the user. The ideal placement incorporates advertising without interfering with the user experience. This may be within the content, alongside the content, or between events of the content.
the ad placement identifier is utilized in several environments of a monetization experience to connect a user's ad request with our platform.
the numbers of ads that are recorded as viewable to your users.
An ad that has been viewed by the end user. An ad may have been requested and delivered but is only considered rendered when actually displayed to the user.
An ad that has been sent to a user’s device in response to an ad request. These ads may or may not be viewed by the user (rendered). Responding to ad requests and delivering ads prior to the actual display time decreases delays in the user’s experience.
occur when an ad placement within your site or application requests an ad from the server.
the ability to track how many of your views and clicks result in a download of your app. To utilize this feature, an advertiser must register the app with the Monetize side the SSP.
a customizable message or notification that is triggered when an issue is detected. Used in Analytics Insights and the Ad Platform user interface.
previously whitelist, used in advertising targeting to filter ads and placements for optimal monetization.
the number of times an Verizon Media Ad Platform tries to display an ad.
the ability to match actions back to a specific device. We use attribution for cross-screen (to be able to identify users across different devices) and to identify behaviors of our users.
slang for the available inventory based on historical data and algorithms estimating the amount of inventory that will be available during specific date ranges. The number of Avails is the basis for how all guaranteed ad sales are done.
the average price that an impression sold for calculated per 1,000 winning impressions following completed auctions (clears) for bid requests.
a type of ad format that appears at the top of the page or below the fold in your application. Display banners can be static, animated or expandable.
the price point a bidder proposes in an auction to win a bid request.
the value that an advertiser is willing to pay to deliver an impression to the user on a per click or per thousand impression basis. A bid price may be above or below the price a publisher is willing to sell their traffic. On Exchanges, multiple bids can be offered for an impression or a click at the same time.
the percentage of time a bidder responds to a bid request in an effort to deliver an impression expressed as a percentage.
the number of times your app or site requested a bid from bidders in the marketplace.
the number of times an ad seller bid on your inventory.
Used in The Store. AOL billing is adjusted based on 3rd party sources i.e. comScore, DoubleVerify, Innovid, etc. Yahoo site billing is not adjusted on 3rd party numbers.
the name of the platform (DSP/bidder) buying the impressions within the deal ID.
a collection of budget, time, and creative assets that are delivered across our platform by an advertiser in order to reach users on our hosted inventory. Advertisers operate campaigns with us in order to deliver a message, product, and/or service.
a category selection that allows the SSPto serve your mobile ads on the most relevant and appropriate sites and apps on our platform.
- Pending - a campaign has been submitted and is under review.
- Scheduled - a campaign is approved and will start on the date specified.
- Running - The campaign is delivering on the SSP platform.
- Paused - Temporarily stopping a campaign and no ads are being displayed.
- Completed - The campaign has spent its allocated budget and reached its end date.
- Completed* - The campaign has reached its end date, but did not deliver its full budget. You may extend the end date of your campaign to spend the total budget, or terminate the campaign and return your remaining budget to your Funds.
- Terminated - You may request to stop your campaign at any time and have any unspent budget returned to your Funds. Once a campaign is terminated, it cannot be restarted.
- Denied - The campaign does not abide by the Terms & Conditions set forth by Verizon Media, and will not be allowed to run in its current state.
an action denoted by the number of times a mobile device user physically selects your mobile ad; an action tallied when a user physically touches your ad. Only one click is counted per ad.
the ratio of completed ad views against impressions delivered to the users. Example: if 10,000 ads are delivered but only 500 of them are watched to completion the complete rate is 0.05%.
25% - The number of ads that were viewed more than 25% divided by the total number of ad impressions.
50% - The number of ads that were viewed more than 50% divided by the total number of ad impressions.
75% - The number of ads that were viewed more than 75% divided by the total number of ad impressions.
100% - The number of ads that were completely viewed (start to finish) divided by the total number of ad impressions.
Advertisers can choose to target all connection types, only mobile carriers, or only WiFi carriers.
a type of campaign where the advertiser pays based on a user taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. Examples of actions include completing a sales transaction or filling out a form.
the amount of money an advertiser pays each time a user clicks on an ad. CPC campaigns are generally utilized by premium performance advertisers.
a metric relative to a single user. The amount of money an advertiser is willing to pay for a user watching an entire video ad. Example: a delivered 30 sec video ad is paid at $3 when it reaches the viewer, but if the entire ad is watched to completion the advertiser is willing to pay $10.
the cost of advertising based on a user downloading an application.
the cost of advertising per thousand impressions or ads served. CPM campaigns are typically utilized by premium brand advertisers.
(used in “the Store”) an Advertiser's commitment to purchasing a bid for a specified day or a multiple day time-frame (monthly).
an advertisement, which displays within content on an application or site on a mobile device. Theseds may include animations or embedded URLs.
the measurement of the number if times a user clicks an advertisement calculated by taking the total number of clicks the ad received, divided by the number of impressions – typically expressed as a percentage. This metric is used to measure the effectiveness of a mobile advertising campaign. CTR is calculated by dividing the number of users who clicked on an ad by the number of impressions. Example: 5 clicks / 500 impressions = .01 x 100 = 1% CTR. This is an important performance metric and your goal should be to have a legitimate CTR of more than 1%.
amount of your total budget that the campaign will attempt to spend each day, until the total budget is spent or the campaign end date is reached. Note: Service day concludes at 11:59 pm GMT. By electing to start a campaign on the same day as setup, the daily budget may not be met depending on how much time is left in the day.
a direct transaction arrangement between a seller and a bidder on the platform, usually created using a “Deal ID”.
a demand-side platform is a piece of software used to purchase advertising in an automated fashion. This platform enables advertisers to purchase impressions and audience across multiple ad exchanges and inventory sources. DSPs are most often used by advertisers and agencies to help them buy display, video, mobile and search ads.
how to deliver an ad campaign; deliver the impressions spread out evenly over time or as quickly as possible until the frequency cap has been met.
Targeting based on demographic information such as age, gender, and income. This information may come from registration data or an inference-based mechanism.
serves as the web address, specified by the advertiser, where the user will be taken when an ad is clicked.
IDs unique to each device that can be used for targeting. Examples include: IFA (Apple’s iOS Identifier for Advertising) and Ad ID (Google’s Android advertising identifier). Another type of identifier data is from a 3rd party data partner, AdTruth, which provides a universal identifier based on a probabilistic algorithm for both mobile web and app.
the ability to target certain types of devices such as smartphones, feature phones, connected devices or tablets.
also referred to as a media market. One of the 210 regions of the US that define television and radio markets, roughly defined by metropolitan areas, with suburbs often being combined. DMAs are determined by the Nielsen Company and impact the cost of advertising in a specific area. The more viewers in a particular DMA, the more an advertisement will cost. When evaluating a marketing mix it is important to understand the DMAs being targeted and weigh the potential opportunities and costs.
Learn more about DMAs and how we use them for location-based targeting
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the actual cost per thousand impressions garnered, calculated by dividing total revenue by the total number of impressions in thousands. For example, you earned $500 from 50,000 impressions. That would be ($500/50,000) = .01 x 1000 = $10 eCPM. This metric is used to reflect earnings, regardless of the campaign type mix (CPM, CPC, CPA, etc.).
a display banner ad that expands to a full page ad when a user clicks it.
a metric used to represent the total percent of ad requests you make to our ad platform that result in an ad being displayed to your users.
the number of times an impression is allowed to run per day, week or month.
targeting any location worldwide within a specified Centroid or Polygon area.
an advertising business organization that develops industry standards, conducts research, and provides legal support for the online advertising industry.
the ratio of the number of IAB viewable ad impressions divided by the number of IAB measurable ad impressions. See ‘Viewability’.
an impression is generated every time an end-user views an ad.
ad units that appear inline with other app content. Inline Ads are often found at the top or bottom of a screen while reading articles and searching through content. These ads are commonly referred to as “banners” or “rectangles”.
This final step in the ad proposal process results from the purchase commitment between a seller and a buyer (may be an actual advertiser or an agency and may be executed digitally or via hard copy) to run a campaign.
a video ad unit that includes buttons to allow a consumer to take an action and engage with the ad (i.e., visit website, make a purchase, "like' on Facebook, etc.).
full screen ads (video or static) that display over any of your application’s content. The best time to use Interstitial Ads is during a natural break in the application’s content, such as after completion of a level in a game. Within interstitial ad placements developers have the option to display interactive video ads. These ads often result in higher eCPM for developers.
Java script Ad Call See this doc for details
a term or many terms that can be assigned to a creative to categorize it. Use labels to search for a specific creative that you may want to reuse in the future.
Targeting based on location parameters, including lat/long (GPS-derived), zip code/post code, city, state, region, or country. Through these parameters, advertisers are able to execute hyper-local and local campaigns.
Level of Engineering, time, effort, talent a task will need to be completed.
A Media Plan is a detailed description of an opportunity to be booked. Critical for Ad Ops.
The legacy system currently powering the Store.
a set of ad formats specifically suited to publisher content and content layout. Native formats have evolved to include two very different families; unique native where the content structure and the content itself are unique and specific to a publisher and agency/advertiser, and standard native where the structure is standard but the content and placement is unique to the publisher.
Owned and Operated
A collection of products that exist only when exclusive 100% SOV Roadblocks or Sponsorships are running. e.g. Multiple LBRB, LRECs, Sky, etc.
Short for sales pitch. Advertizer or Client team reaches out to a client regarding a Package buy for a specific timeframe, budget, number of impressions, eCPM, etc. Example: Did you finalize the Hulu pitch to buy Yahoo Homepage US Package?
The location where an advertisement is placed on a desktop or mobile website or inside an application. Effective ad placement ensures that the ads are visible to the user. The ideal placement incorporates advertising without interfering with the user experience. This may be within the content, alongside the content, or between events of the content. Each placement has a unique identifier in the inventory system
a programmatic market where publishers select specific demand and put business rules in place for that demannd to access inventory that could be exclusive.
a programmatic market between one publisher and one buyer where the deal is developed off-network or via automated workflow, formalized via a Deal ID, and then transacted programmatically. Programmatic direct combines the value of direct relationships with the superior targeting value of programmatic.
markets that leverage automated workflow, decisioning algorithms, and trading that can be configured in multiple ways (e.g. programmatic direct, private exchange, open exchange) to create value and efficiently operate at scale.
Acronym referring to the Pricing and Yield Management or Yield OPs team.
a full screen, 300x250 pixel ad that overlays your application's content. Available as static, animated or expandable (on iPad only).
targeting a specific Metro area within the United States.
a request occurs when a user’s mobile phone browser or application requests an ad from the ad server, or a publisher system makes such a request on behalf of the user.
serving ads across digital and mobile platforms to consumers who have previously visited an advertiser’s desktop or mobile property.
advertisements with which users can interact and/or take advantage of a device’s sensors (such as the accelerometer) within a mobile web page or application.
a form of advertising where all placements on a site deliver the same creative allowing the advertiser to take over for a specified time period i.e., leaderboard or right rail for one day, first banner impression of the day over a week.
the actual cost per thousand impressions garnered for the total requests received. RPM is calculated by dividing revenue by total ad requests, multiplied by 1000.
bidding or buying mobile and digital ad impressions in a current time frame (real-time , no delays) auction.
Secure Dynamic Ad Rotation Library for AJAX. An ad rendering platform that fetches and securely renders most display ads across Y! O&O. As of 08/19, $1B display ads annually were rendered via SDARLA. Additional detail.
set of software development tools and code that enable publishers to create, monetize, and/or collect data from mobile apps.
Acronym for salesforcedotcom or salesforce.com - SalesForce is an American cloud-based software company providing customer-relationship management (CRM) services used by Verizon Media.
the amount of money a bidder has spent on your inventory (AKA - earnings).
a premium type of advertising. Considered the strongest relationship format between an advertiser and content, a medium or an event. Sponsorships are more custom and require partnerships with editorial and site owners to build-out an article or event within our brands to connect with advertiser’s products or services. Example: mapquest.com displaying hotel ads.
the percentage of ad attempts that delivered an impression. Derived from the number of impressions divided by the number of attempts.
the ability for an advertiser to reach a specific audience of mobile consumers across operating systems, content channels, demographic segments, and countries.
A global media planning tool used by sales and account management to access campaigns for
- Discovering and planning of campaigns and opportunity pipeline management
- Explore and reserve sponsorships
- Investigate and correct roadblocks
- Gather pricing and avails for RFPs
- Post-sale adjustments* - add to the plan, adjust pricing, and apply targeting. *(A valid Insertion Order (IO) is required.)
an environment where you can activate ad sources for a given placement ID.
when money is moved from one place to another. For example, money is transferred from a bank to your Verizon Media Self Serve Funds.
a standard for delivering video ads to a capable player. The ad markup is XML, which is then parsed by the player and displayed to the user. Key features include auto-play video and advanced tracking features. This standard is widely supported in mobile applications.
this SDK provides functionality for monetizing both Android and iOS based applications. Use the SDK to easily integrate inline, interstitial, and native ads into an application.
the number of times Verizon Media fills a request sent to our platform with an ad.
this term is no longer used by Verizon Media. See Allow list
the number of bids (often bidder specific) that cleared or won an auction.
the percentage of time bids win (clear) an auction.